Finally got the Zebra’s!

Today I decided to work my way around Lake Weir. I’ve birded and butterflied several spots around the lake, but I wanted to see if I could find some things that have been reported that I haven’t seen. It worked out great for everything. Stopping at a few locations I wanted to see if I could find terns. I had seen one on the lake at a great distance the other evening but couldn’t say which one. This morning, I found four FORSTER’S TERNS at Hampton Beach! I also had my first Killdeer of the trip. At my butterfly field I immediately spotted two ZEBRA SWALLOWTAILS! (above) I’ve seen one or two a day since I’ve been here, but I can’t even get close to them. Today, though they aren’t the greatest, I got several photos of this beautiful butterfly. When I got to my next stop, I had the same experience with ZEBRA LONGWINGS! (below) One finally cooperated, and I was able to get many photos of it. Those were two of my targets to get photos for this trip. I have seen them both many times but had no photos left from back in the day when I was able to get them. Now I have photos in my reports! Overall it was a great day, I had 47 species of birds around the lake and 20 Species of butterflies!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment