Still at it!

It’s been a busy few days. Lots of birds and butterflies to be seen. I’ve been spending a lot of time over at or near the Ocklawaha Prairie Restoration Area. Its quite a birdy area and is even better for butterflies right now. I picked out a lot with lots of disturbed areas of sand. It is really weedy, and the butterflies love it. I’ve had 18 species at this spot so far. A field right near our condo is another great spot, I’ve had 22 species there. My highlights so far are the life butterflies I’ve gotten. Ceraunus Blue, Whirlabout, Phaon Crescent (below), Southern Skipperling and Ocola Skipper thus far. Of species I’ve had in the past, the Hairstreaks are my favorite. I’ve had Oak, Red-banded, White-M and Gray Hairstreak so far. The weathers been great and I’ve seen lots of good birds too. One of my favorites is the Swallow-tailed Kite, I see one or two each day while I’m out. I should be visiting Apopka Wildlife Drive on Friday and we’re going to do Silver Springs as well. Not enough time in a day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment