A nice day!

Today I had some target birds I wanted to see as well as wanting to check some butterfly spots. I headed to a pond that they’ve been reported Black-bellied Whistling Ducks. It took a few minutes until I spotted a couple in the distance. There were lots of other birds too, but I was hoping for closer views of the ducks. I decided to leave to check the next spot, but before I reached the car seven more BBWD’s flew in and landed much closer. I got some decent shots and then headed to the second location where I saw two additional ducks and my first Black-crowned Night-heron of the trip. I then headed to one of my favorite butterfly fields where I finally found a really cooperative Zebra Swallowtail! Lots of great photos! While I was checking out the tremendous number of butterflies, I spotted a Five-lined Skink! I’ve seen them before, but these things are lightning fast! I did manage a couple shots before it was gone for good. Also, a nice find was a five-foot Black Racer! In keeping with its name, it was gone before I could get even one shot! Also, at the butterfly field were perhaps the highest number of Hairstreaks I’ve ever had in one spot. I had 13 Oak Hairstreaks and 2 Gray Hairstreaks! Definitely a high number.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment