Ulster County Bullock’s Oriole – yes!

First winter male Bullock's Oriole in Milton New York

First winter male Bullock’s Oriole in Milton New York


Thanks to a heads up from friend Ken McDermott, I was able to make arrangements last night to try for the Bullock’s Oriole in Milton first thing this morning. David Baxter, the home owner, was very nice and welcomes birders to try for the bird. I arrived at 8:30, and David hadn’t seen the bird yet this morning. About half an hour later, I was looking around the yard when I glanced at the suet. A long orange-yellow tail was sticking out from behind the suet. I moved around to try to get a better look, but somehow the bird disappeared. It didn’t return for half an hour, but gave a momentary excellent view this time. It again went on the back of the suet, showing only its tail. Just then, a Sharp-shinned Hawk flew through the yard and all the birds scattered so fast, I didn’t even see the oriole leave. Another half hour passed, but this time the bird showed much better and remained for over five minutes on the suet. Photos at the suet are tough because of its position, but you can get them through one of the bushes in the yard. This is my second Bullock’s Oriole for Ulster County, the last being in 2007 in Phoenicia. From Milton I went to Esopus Meadows to try for the Eurasian Wigeon seen there yesterday. There were almost no waterfowl present and no Wigeon of any kind. From there I headed back to the Bashakill, where the waterfowl influx continues. From Haven Road I had Mallards, Black Ducks, Canada Geese, Common and Hooded Mergansers, Green-winged Teal and Ring-necked Ducks. Raptors included two Bald Eagles and a Northern Harrier. By now it had started to snow and the wind was getting crazy. A good birding day!
Another shot of the Bullock's Oriole

Another shot of the Bullock’s Oriole

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ulster County Bullock’s Oriole – yes!

  1. Deb Kral says:

    Yay, John!! Knowing you saw the bird gave the rest of us hope, and it did eventually return much to our delight at 1:45pm. A Life Bird for me since I dipped on the Phoenicia bird!

  2. That’s great Deb! Congratulations!

  3. Linda says:

    Great sighting! I am so glad that you got to see it and post as I may not be able to see it, so I may have to be content with seeing it virtually. And it is easier for me to virtually enjoy the experience of it with your pictures and narrative… 🙂

  4. Glad you enjoyed the post, hope you get to see it as well!

Leave a comment