Waterfowl amping up and a Peregrine Falcon

One rather poor shot of the Peregrine

One rather poor shot of the Peregrine

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon


After hearing from Jim Carney that some waterfowl had arrived at the Rio Reservoir yesterday (Karen Miller and I were there last Sunday and had nothing) I decided to head over and see what had come in. I had 9 Common Mergansers, 2 Black Duck, 2 Common Goldeneye, 2 Bufflehead and 2 Hooded Mergansers. I also had three Bald Eagles and a Pileated Woodpecker. From there I decided to head to the Hawks Nest to see if I could spot the Peregrine Falcons. I found one bird on the usual tree from last year. As is always the case with this site, I arrived just after a heavy cloud bank moved in (sunny all the way over). Once again, poor shots of the Peregrine. Great to see it though. It was eating a small creature when I arrived. I couldn’t tell if it was a rodent or a bird, but he finished it off quickly whatever it was. Its nice to see the bird just relaxing and hanging out. Most of the time, you see them at 100 miles per hour. From there, I headed to the Bashakill. There was considerable bird movement today. Gulls were moving through and both Common and Hooded Mergansers were flying over as well as many on the water. There were also the FOS Ring-necked Ducks at this spot, four of them. It was a good morning overall.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waterfowl amping up and a Peregrine Falcon

  1. I wonder what time you went for the falcon? I was there in the morning and had the same gray conditions! Great bird to see though, and good to see some waterfowl movement. Matt

  2. I was there at about 9:45 am. I think you came through a bit later, but not sure. Nice to see the bird, hope the other one returns as well. Glad you got the Cackling, nice call.

  3. birderbill says:

    Never saw one that close . . . love it.

Leave a Reply

