Having a great time!

Purple Gallinule

Things are going well in Florida! I’ve been birding and butterflying each day with excellent results. This whole area is new to me so the places I’m exploring are new as well. I’ve hit the following locations so far. Emeralda Marsh, Carney Island Conservation Area, Hope Park and Ocklawaha Prairie Restoration Area. I recommend them all! I have seen 65 species of birds, 20 species of butterflies and 3 species of reptiles so far. We’ve been fortunate to have a Limpkin visit our beachfront each morning feeding on snails and a pair of Otters have come by a couple of times. I’m including some photos of some of the highlights. Tomorrow, we take the Wildlife Drive through Emeralda Marsh (were only able to hike part of it as drive is only open on weekends), there should be an abundance of wildlife on this route. I will update you on how it goes over the weekend.

White Peacock Butterfly

Gopher Tortoise

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Having a great time!

  1. kcmiller@citlink.net says:

    Love the White Peacock Butterfly!

Leave a comment