Whimbrel at Morningside Park!!

I had been hoping that the unsettled weather overnight would bring in some shorebirds to any of our locations here in the county. I had already checked the Apollo and the College and only very basic birds were there. I was now at Morningside Park kayaking the lake. The situation was about the same. Killdeer, Least, Solitary and Spotted Sandpipers and that was it. I was paddling to the farthest back island hoping something might be there. As I was about 2/3rds of the way there I heard a loud calling shorebird. It made three notes repeatedly, but I didn’t know what it was other than a shorebird. I kept trying to see where it was coming from, but it was clearly flying now as every time it called it was in a different direction. I still couldn’t see the bird. It finally called directly behind me. I turned the kayak around and saw it try to land on one of the big mud flat islands. Rather than land, it took right off and circled back over the far side of the lake. I was now pretty certain it was a WHIMBREL, but needed better looks. I didn’t know if I’d get the opportunity because it disappeared at the far end of the lake and stopped calling. Just as I was paddling in the right direction, it began calling again and headed right at me. It is tough to get photos from a moving kayak, but I did manage to get some identifiable photos of the bird. This is only my second Whimbrel in the county and my first at Morningside Park. Lance Verderame did have one there ten years ago. This is the first one that has been photographed even if they aren’t the greatest shots.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment