A great day of birding in the Sullivan County Catskills!

This morning dawned with a temp of 17 degrees, and it was extremely windy to boot. I didn’t get out until 9:30 am hoping to avoid some of the harsh conditions. It worked like a charm. By the time I reached the upper rim of the Neversink Basin, it was up to 23 degrees and the wind had stopped and the full sun made for a pleasant morning. Some days just seem to work out perfectly, and this was one of them. My first good bird came in the form of a very cooperative Barred Owl. It was perched in a hollow among spruce trees in the full sun, just relaxing and soaking up the warmth. I got lots of photos, but the light was pretty harsh. Moving on I made it to the Marsden’s feeders on Woodard Road. I waited just a few minutes before 8 Evening Grosbeaks came in to feed. Again, lots of photos. Then, when considering what to do next, I recalled I hadn’t been to Anderson and Flynn Roads yet this year. I was hoping maybe I’d come across some Purple Finches or maybe if I was really lucky, a Ruffed Grouse! I was really lucky! There was snow on the ground and as I rounded a bend in the road, the grouse stood out nicely against the snow. I pulled over and it just stood there motionless. Soon it began to pick and walk around. I stepped out of my car hoping for some better shots than through the windshield. The grouse just ignored me and went about its business. Eventually, it worked its way to the side of the road and walked under some hemlocks. It sat in a sunny spot and let me take many photos, undisturbed by my presence. I eventually moved on after quite a while. As I headed home for lunch, I realized I had enjoyed considerable time with all of these birds and had eventually left them contentedly sitting in place. That doesn’t happen that often. A great morning!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment