Mega Rarity – CORNCRAKE!!!

 

IMG_9824Last night I decided that if the Corncrake was still being seen on Long Island this morning I would head down to Cedar Beach to try for the bird.  I spoke with Curt McDermott who was going down earlier than I and he agreed to update me as to the birds status once he knew it was present.  I was nearing the area when Curt called to say it was indeed still present.  Thanks Curt!  I arrived shortly thereafter and had great views of this very cooperative bird.  It was initially 200 feet down the road, but within fifteen minutes worked its way right up to us.  Great photo ops!  This Mega Rarity hails from Europe, mostly eastern now, as its population in Western Europe has declined drastically.  It is a long distance migrant, wintering in Africa.  This is the first actually chase able one in my 25 years of birding!  There were many birders there enjoying this unprecedented event in New York State. Hopefully the bird will remain for some time as birders will be flocking from all around the nation to see this wonderful bird!

IMG_9876

Birders lined up along Ocean Parkway for a glimpse of the Corncrake!

IMG_9838

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mega Rarity – CORNCRAKE!!!

  1. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Congratulations on getting this wonderful bird, John!

  2. Ken says:

    CONGRATULATIONS, John. That’s a GREAT bird on any list!!! A little bird told me that you had seen it; last night I suggested that you two might join forces and head out there today since I was not going. Glad that you both succeeded.

  3. Thank you Ken! Wish you had joined us!

  4. Congrats John! Nice job with the photos too!

  5. Bill says:

    Knew you could do it, my brother. I’ll probably try Friday if it’s still there.

  6. Deborah Kral says:

    Where were you, John? I was there from 9:30-11:30, then again later in the afternoon. So glad I went to see it. CONGRATULATIONS to us!!!!!

  7. Thanks Bill, hope it hangs in there, its a great opportunity!

Leave a Reply

