Some good birds!

This morning, the first I’ve been out since Wednesday morning, I headed to all the up county water spots.  Yesterday, a group a friends and I kayaked Yankee Lake.  Once I was done, I thought we’d put the kayaks away since I hadn’t had any shorebirds in a week.  I stopped at Morningside Park and immediately found a BAIRD’S SANDPIPER! I was looking for Pectoral Sandpiper, as they are often late in the county and show up at Morningside right into November.  Still no Pec, but the Baird’s was a real surprise. Having only gotten my first in the county in three years about ten days ago, I never considered I’d get another this year.  A Killdeer was the only other shorebird there.  The Rondout Reservoir and Swan Lake were the only other two productive spots.  Common Loon, Double-crested Cormorant, Belted Kingfisher, Common Merganser, Pied-billed Grebe, Ring-billed Gull, Gadwall, Northern Pintail and all the usual suspects were all seen between the two spots. Thirty five species, A good morning!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some good birds!

  1. kdudge says:

    Nice! I swung by haven road on the way back from school today. Had a nice, close grebe right at the bridge.

    Hope all is well!

    Kyle

    >

  2. Nice to hear from you! Hope you enjoy your long weekend. My God Daughter came home today too. You two really have to meet some time since you both go to the same school. Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

