Bashakill Warbler Fallout!

This morning I met Scott Baldinger on Haven Road.  We were there to meet Lee Jones from Belize to take him birding for the morning. Just as Lee arrived, so did Karen Miller who joined us for the morning. We had some nice birds along Haven Road, Common Gallinule, Wood Ducks, Bald Eagle and Great Blue Heron.  We then headed to the Orchard which was very unproductive. We decided to head to the Nature Trail which ended up being a very wise choice.  Once we reached the Sand Pit, finding a few warblers along the way as well as hummingbirds and Yellow-bellied Flycatchers,  we hit the mother load of warblers!  It was one of the most amazing warbler days I’ve ever experienced!  We had so many birds, Magnolias and Black-throated Green were the most abundant with lesser numbers of Chestnut-sided, Black-throated Blue, American Redstarts and more.  The most impressive totals for me were the BAY-BREASTED WARBLERS! I have never seen so many in my life!  At one point I had three in a tree, only to find four in another a short time later.  I only entered ten in my ebird report, but included there were likely several more.   I also entered 40 “warbler species” at the advice of Lee, a regional reviewer for Belize, to indicate just how many birds were passing, without actually being identified.  If I’m correct, we had a total of 15 warbler species between us, but the total of individuals far exceeded 100!! Unbelievable morning on the Bashakill!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

