Something Different!

IMG_7042

Above is the typical “Hummingbird Moth” most common in our area.

Ever since Karen and I visited the Deli Fields at the Bashakill Tuesday, I’ve been itching to get back there to try to photograph “SPHINX MOTHS”.  Ever since I was a young child I’ve had an interest in Sphinx Moths.  At first, as many others, I thought it was a hummingbird.  Eventually I found out it was a moth.  They used to visit my mothers bed of Zinnia’s regularly in summer.  The one that always came was the typical “Hummingbird Moth”, our most common species.  It wasn’t until I moved to Yankee Lake that I saw my second and third species of Sphinx Moths.  My large bed of Phlox attracted the usual suspect, but one day I noticed a number of Sphinx Moths feeding.  Immediately I recognized that there were different species.  I had a large “White Striped Sphinx Moth” and a smaller similar species.  The large one had black and white stripes on it abdomen and thorax(?).  The wings were similarly striped, but had a huge splash of bright pink close to the body. What a beauty!  The smaller one was similar, but slightly different. I never really ID’d it to species.  When Karen and I visited the “Bee Balm” at the Deli Fields Tuesday, we immediately noticed Sphinx Moths.  Not only were there numerous Hummingbird Moths, but I spotted a smaller different Sphinx.  It didn’t take long before we had seen a number of these new individuals.  I knew it would be a lifer for me, so I wanted to return and figure it out.  Today I did just that.  I got many photos of both species, and some came out pretty decent.  The life Sphinx is now known to be a “Snowberry Sphinx Moth”  I have no idea where the name came from, but it  certainly doesn’t seem to go with this velvety green and black moth. It was fun watching and photographing them this morning. If this is of any interest to anyone out there, I would head to the Deli Fields soon.  The Bee Balm is at its peak, but some clusters are already past peak. I’m sure the moths will remain as long as its in bloom.  By the way, there are also a million bees, and dozens of butterflies to entertain as well!

IMG_7032

Another view of this beautiful moth!

IMG_7029

The Snowberry Moth is about a third smaller than the Hummingbird Moth.

IMG_7024

This moth is actually a vivid “pea green” in color, but I couldn’t get it to show in photos.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

