Shorebird Fallout at Apollo Plaza!

The gorgeous WHITE-RUMPED SANDPIPER at the Apollo Plaza!


After having some luck with shorebirds at Apollo yesterday, and seeing last nights forecast I knew where I’d be going first thing this morning. Several times in the night I was awakened by torrential thunderstorms! It just made me even more eager to get out. I headed right up to Apollo where I could see lots of rain had fallen. I first spotted a LEAST SANDPIPER, which is expected at this time of year. I then spotted a SEMIPALMATED PLOVER, which I had had yesterday. Then, a group of shorebirds were vocalizing as they chased each other around. SHORT-BILLED DOWITCHERS! Not common in the county, and even more rare in spring. As I watched them two more peeps came into view. Two different species. The first I quickly realized was a SEMIPALMATED SANDPIPER, but the second excited me more WHITE-RUMPED SANDPIPER! Scanning around, I had half a dozen KILLDEER and then a SPOTTED SANDPIPER! Seven species of shorebirds at one site in spring is great for Sullivan County! Shorebirds are much more common in fall here. I quickly alerted Arlene Borko and Scott Baldinger who both zoomed up, getting to enjoy the fallout! I will be getting back out shortly to see what else I can come up with as a result of the storms!

The five SHORT-BILLED DOWITCHER at Apollo Plaza.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

