Bashakill – The Flycatchers and Thrush are in!

My FOS Gray-cheeked Thrush at Thrush Point on the Nature Trail this morning.


The Bashakill was alive with birds this morning, though the warbler show was still sub par. The big news was that with last nights favorable wind conditions, flycatchers and thrush came in in numbers. I had my FOS EASTERN WOOD-PEWEE in my yard first thing this morning, there would be many more at the Bashakill. Along with the Pewee, WILLOW FLYCATCHERS arrived overnight. Many birders got to see two of them sing along the Stop Sign Trail this morning while more pewees sang uphill from there. Great-crested Flycatchers were in their highest numbers yet. Later, Tom Crepet and Jane Vechione informed me there was an ACADIAN FLYCATCHER at the Hornseshoe Parking Area. I went right over and it was easily seen and heard. Least Flycatcher, Eastern Kingbird and Eastern Phoebe all remain numerous. At the Nature Trail, I immediately ran into a group of four Swainson’s Thrush. This was my high count so far this season, but more would follow. I went out to “Thrush Point” and found three more (possibly four) and my FOS GRAY-CHEEKED THRUSH! This is always one of my favorites! Wood Thrush and Veery were abundant everywhere this morning as well! I only managed 15 species of warbler this morning with most being the common kinds. Three Blackpoll and five Canada Warbler were the highlights. Other birders reported Yellow-billed Cuckoo, Orchard Oriole and Tennessee Warbler, but I didn’t personally find them. With tonight’s forecast for southwest winds continuing, tomorrow should be another great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

