Another Fallout, of a different kind.

Who can resist a Rose-breasted Grosbeak. My life bird flew into my feeders over 30 years ago. I hadn’t even known it existed. I was stunned and hooked!


At 2 am I awoke to hear thunder, lightening, heavy rain and hail. It made me hopeful for the day and I wasn’t disappointed. I headed across the street to check out Yankee Lake. A White-winged Scoter, Two Horned Grebe, a Red-breasted Merganser and seven Ring-billed Gulls. On to Kiamesha Lake. There I had twenty five Bufflehead, another White-winged Scoter and another Red-breasted Merganser. On to Morningside Park. Here I found four Long-tailed Duck, five Double-crested Cormorants and a Common Loon. On to Neversink Reservoir. Here I had an amazing 27 WHITE-WINGED SCOTERS!! This a single day high for me! Also present were fourteen Common Mergansers and again an amazing 52 Bufflehead! Two more Common Loons and twenty five Ring-billed Gulls. At the Apollo Plaza, I had my FOS LEAST SANDPIPERS, Killdeer and Solitary Sandpiper. Also there were the Osprey and three American Pipit. I Then went to the Bashakill. It was as birdy as yesterday, but I still managed 15 species of warbler and many other typical May birds. The highlights of the warblers were Blue-winged, Nashville and Cerulean. The Eastern Screech-owl hung out just long enough for a shot before dropping into the box. This is the most timid Screech-owl we’ve had at the Bashakill. It is almost never seen and once it is, its gone in a flash. Another great day of birding with 70 species seen.

This Eastern Screech-owl is a real shy one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Fallout, of a different kind.

  1. Kathleen Ashman says:

    That was quite the storm that passed through last night, but what amazing birds and numbers you were rewarded with!

  2. We almost always get scoters In May, but have never had that many. The Bufflehead is quite a number too, but I don’t pay as much attention to how many we get.

Leave a Reply

