Relatively quiet the last several days.

Things have been relatively quiet the last several days. The Trumpeter Swan continued to draw many observers through yesterday, but was unfortunately gone this morning. Those arriving at the boat launch this morning were the first group to be disappointed. Recent arrivals have been few, but Blue-gray Gnatcatchers, Blue-headed Vireo, Virginia Rails and Ruby-crowned Kinglets have been the birds to show significant increases. I did have a fun evening last night. I headed to the Deli Fields just before 8pm to see what I could come up with for night birds. The Great Horned Owls were not calling, but a couple of American Woodcock were displaying. No Eastern Screech either. On to Pine Kill Road, I was really pleased to have my FOS EASTERN WHIP-POOR-WILL calling incessantly! On to my second spot for Whips, but none to be heard. As soon as I got out of my car, two BARRED OWLS were doing the wild “Monkey Calls” they do when they are courting. They too seemed not to be able to stop, still going when I left five minutes later. A fun evening!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

