Bashakill

Rusty Blackbirds on the Birch Trail.


In spite of the high winds today, I spent a considerable amount of time birding. Though the winds had birds hunkered down, If you know where to look, they are there. Haven Road was practically devoid of avian life, but the Birch Trail out of the Main Boat Launch heading toward Haven Road had an abundance of birds. I first came across a couple of Rusty Blackbirds, many Robins and a few sparrows. Once I reached the tower, I found an abundance of waterfowl. Well over 200 Ring-necked Ducks (actually more) continue. Among them were many Hooded Mergansers, Mallard and Black Ducks, Bufflehead and an abundance of Wood Ducks that numbered near 100! Also seen were eight American Wigeon! The surprise for me happened when I was nearly to Haven Road and came to a small opening to find three GADWALL! These were my FOS birds. I stopped around lunch time and then came back out late in the afternoon. I added Northern Pintails, Green-winged Teal and Common Mergansers for the day. This gave me a dozen species of waterfowl for the day. I then stayed late, went to the Deli Fields where I quickly heard both Great Horned Owls! Nice day.
Addendum: A scope helps when out at the tower as birds are quite distant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

