Interesting Snow Bunting Observation

Snow Buntings at a feeding station in Big Valley Trailer Park this morning.

Snow Buntings at a feeding station in Big Valley Trailer Park this morning.


This morning I birded the valley hoping for something new. That didn’t happen, in fact, there were far fewer birds in the valley than before the storm. The storm dumped ten inches of snow on us and the plummeting temperatures had us waking up to 8 degrees this morning. Most of the birds, especially the waterfowl, were gone. As I birded the valley, I went through “Big Valley” trailer park outside of Wurtsboro, hoping for blackbirds. I didn’t find blackbirds, but I had a new experience in birding. As I drove around the park, I turned onto the last drive along a field adjacent to the park. The last trailer on the west side of the park had feeders out. I saw there were birds under the feeders, so I drove over. I was surprised to find 10 SNOW BUNTINGS feeding on the mixed seed under the feeders. I have never seen buntings at a feeder in my life. They seemed to be filling up on millet. A snow plow came around a couple of times, flushing the birds as it went. Each time, the birds flew back down to the feeders to resume eating. I can’t help but wonder how many people have seen Snow Buntings at a feeding station before.
I wasn't able to get a shot of all ten buntings, there was a depression under the feeders and a pile of snow behind them. Both of these features kept a few of the birds hidden.

I wasn’t able to get a shot of all ten buntings, there was a depression under the feeders and a pile of snow behind them. Both of these features kept a few of the birds hidden.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

