A Taste of spring………….before the storm!

Some of the thirty American Wigeon present today.

Some of the thirty American Wigeon present today.


With the recent mild temperatures and the south winds overnight, birds were bound to come in to the Bashakill. Scott Baldinger texted me this morning that he had seen a flock of Ring-necked Ducks on his way out this morning. I was already headed to the Bash and this only hastened my trip. I reached Haven Road to find it still fogged in. In spite of that, I still found some waterfowl. Off the bridge, I spotted six Common Mergansers and two Common Goldeneye. Mallards, Black Ducks and Canada Geese were all present too. Bob Fiore stopped to say hello, and as we talked I was surprised to have five AMERICAN WIGEON fly right past us. I eventually worked my way to the other end of the kill, where Scott had seen the Ring-necks. I found them immediately, still where he had seen them. There were 32 in all. Scott arrived and I told him about the wigeon. I had no sooner said it, and scanning to my right, found a flock of them. As it turned out there were 30 of them! That is a great record for the Bashakill. I don’t think we’ve ever had anything near that number in February! Among the birds at this spot, there were also five Hooded Mergansers. Four Bald Eagles and many other passerines were seen during the course of the morning. An early sign of spring even though the forecast is for snow tomorrow. I returned later to find a pair of Wood Ducks had joined the numbers of waterfowl.
Most of the 32 Ring-necked Ducks present this morning.

Most of the 32 Ring-necked Ducks present this morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

