Ulster County Pink-footed and Cackling Geese!

The PINK-FOOTED GOOSE on the Wallkill River.

The PINK-FOOTED GOOSE on the Wallkill River.


I was running some errands in Monticello this morning when I got a call from Bruce Nott informing me he had found a PINK-FOOTED GOOSE at Blue Chip Farms in Ulster County. He said the bird had flown with a flock of Canada’s and he was trying to relocate it. I told him I would head down. When I arrived, I found Bruce and we spread out to search for the goose. After about 2 hours, at 1pm, I relocated the goose on the Wallkill River on River Road. I called Bruce and he came right over. As I was watching the goose, I spotted a CACKLING GOOSE on the river. I was able to point it out to Bruce too. Eventually, Peter Schoenberger arrived and was also able to see the Pink-footed, though we had now lost track of the Cackling Goose. Eventually, Ken McDermott and Lisa O’Gorman arrived and got to see the Pink-footed as well. Great birding with great folks! Thanks Bruce! You are a great birder!
The CACKLING GOOSE on the Wallkill River.

The CACKLING GOOSE on the Wallkill River.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

