Weekend Hiking

The Great Blue at Linear Park flushed from the warm water of the canal out to the frozen marsh when I passed by.

The Great Blue at Linear Park flushed from the warm water of the canal out to the frozen marsh when I passed by.


Tired of driving all around the county, I decided to do some hiking this weekend. On Saturday, I hiked the Linear Park Trail from behind the Wurtsburo Airport to Phillipsport. This is about two and a half miles along the canal. The canal from Summitville to Phillipsport is completely open, no ice. That’s not bad with the single digit temps we’ve been having at night. Highlights of this walk were Robins, House Finches, Red-tailed Hawk and the bird of the day my FOS GREAT BLUE HERON. We always have overwintering Great Blues somewhere, but none had been found yet this winter. Now I know where its been hiding. Today, I hiked the Stop Sign Trail at the Bashakill. I went from Haven Road to the Ball Field outside of Wurtsboro, a distance of about three miles. It was quite birdy. Highlights from today’s hike included Wood Duck, Purple Finch, Winter Wren, Rusty Blackbird and Golden-crowned Kinglet. When I was done, I drove around the Bashakill. There were six Common Mergansers and one Hooded Merganser off Haven Road. At Scott Baldinger’s feeders I had six PINE SISKINS! Thanks for the heads up Scott! Two Ravens were flying overhead when I returned to Haven Road. A really enjoyable weekend with some good birds and exercise to boot.
My first Purple Finch in quite some time was a beautiful male.

My first Purple Finch in quite some time was a beautiful male.


Two of the six Pine Siskins at Scott's feeders.

Two of the six Pine Siskins at Scott’s feeders.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Hiking

  1. I love combining hiking with birding and you did well at getting the birds; I find often when I’m hiking, while enjoyable, it’s not always super birdy.

  2. Thanks Matt! It was a success due to the fact that most of our water is frozen now and both of these trails pass through relatively isolated areas with open water. It did go well. Glad you had a decent visit to the county this weekend. Thanks again. John

Leave a Reply

