Around the county

A distant shot of the Long-tailed Duck!

A distant shot of the Long-tailed Duck!


This morning I made a run around the western side of the county. I mainly hit Bethel, Delaware and Liberty townships. I started on Dr. Duggan road to check out the feeders there. I had my FOS BROWN-HEADED COWBIRDS there, about twenty of them. It was a short lived viewing of what was around, as a Cooper’s Hawk flew in and chased everything away. It then came back and stood guard to make sure I didn’t get to see anything else. Moving further up county, I had many Turkeys, Red-tailed Hawks and Bald Eagles. On Radio Tower Road I almost certainly had a Golden Eagle. I had several looks at the bird, and can see no reason it wasn’t a Golden, but it was so dark (complete black cloud cover) and misty at the time that I never could see a gold nape. I’m just going to let this one pass. I was searching for the American Kestrel and Rough-legged Hawk that I had the other day, but found neither. I got a text from Scott Baldinger that he had a nice assortment of waterfowl at the Rondout Reservoir. Indeed he did! A LONG-TAILED and RING-NECKED DUCK were both FOS for me! I also added a COMMON RAVEN. I missed the Gadwall, but I’m sure it will be back as it has been a couple of times recently. Also present were Mallards, Black Ducks, Common and Hooded Mergansers and Common Goldeneye! Thanks Scott for the heads up! When I left there, I decided to head to Woodbourne to see if I could find the AMERICAN KESTREL that has been there recently. Found it immediately! Great day!
The American Kestrel at Woodbourne.

The American Kestrel at Woodbourne.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

