Interesting Morning

The Golden Eagle on Blue Hill Road.

The Golden Eagle on Blue Hill Road.


This morning I covered some areas of the northeastern part of the county that I often don’t get to. I also hit the Rondout Reservoir and Hunter Road. Then Fir Brook, Brown Settlement Road and several other areas in Neversink and Liberty. It was a frigid 3 degrees! My goal was to find winter finches. It didn’t happen! In fact, I never had as single finch of any kind the entire morning until I reached Scott Baldinger’s feeders at the Bashakill. I still had some nice birds. A total of 3 Common Ravens, 10 Turkeys (don’t see them much in this area) and the bird of the day, an immature GOLDEN EAGLE!! The Rondout was the only place I hit this morning that still had open water. Common Mergansers, Mallard and Black Ducks and 3 Common Goldeneye were all the waterfowl present. In fact, Canada Geese were only seen at the Bashakill today. They have been frozen out of all other locations I visited. I thought there would be some at Rondout, but they were gone there too. The other surprise of the morning was for the first time, there were two GRAY CATBIRDS at the Orchard. Only twenty feet from each other, they didn’t seem to squabble at all. Nice morning, but where are the finches?
A Pileated Woodpecker at the Orchard was unusually cooperative.

A Pileated Woodpecker at the Orchard was unusually cooperative.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

