Another Great Bird!

This morning I traveled around the northeast portion of the county again, still hoping for more winter finches. It was a relatively quiet and I had no really exciting species for the morning until I reached Aden Hill Road. I was quite surprised to find a juvenile Northern Harrier hunting the snow covered fields. This is a rather late date for the species in Sullivan and my second NOHA this week. The first was on Tuesday at the Bashakill. From this spot, I headed to Sue Rayano’s Feeders to see if any winter finches had shown up there. I was watching the feeders for about five minutes. Blue Jays, Mourning Doves, Starlings, Juncos and Chickadees were all that I saw. As I was about to get in my car to leave I heard many birds screeching and starlings flying out over the road and up into the trees. As I looked back down, a gorgeous adult NORTHERN GOSHAWK was heading right at me. It turned into Sue’s yard about twenty feet from me. I knew instantly what the bird was. Pale silver gray back and shinning white underparts. As It banked, I could just see pale bars in the tail. As the massive accipiter navigated the yard, birds flew everywhere. I stayed with the bird as it entered the small wood lot right behind Sue’s yard. I thought sure it would pop right out again, but it didn’t. I ran down the street about 50 feet to look in the lot. I didn’t initially see the bird, but then it took off from the back side of a tree, back out over the yard and eventually right up over the trees. I got right on it with my bins and the beautiful stark white eye line and pale gray cap were easily seen. This was my first Goshawk in the county (or anywhere) in two and a half years! Great birding can happen in an instant!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Great Bird!

  1. kcmiller says:

    You’re the bird magnet!

    • Kyle,
      Nice to hear from you! Hope all is going well at school! If I get the bird again or it sets any pattern, I will certainly let Matt know and maybe you can get it. It isn’t that long ago this was a given in the county. Its been scarce the last few years. Happy Holidays to you and your family! John

  2. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Magnificent,John! The Goshawk must have been amazing to see. Congratulations.

  3. It was indeed. I only wish they would become more common again as they were in the past.

Leave a Reply

