Wild Day in Sullivan and Orange Counties!

The Northern Shrike on Hunter Road this morning!

The Northern Shrike on Hunter Road this morning!

This morning I headed up county to see if maybe something new had come in on the lakes and reservoirs or if some winter finches had finally shown up. I birded many areas around the north eastern portion of the county. My first good birds came in the form of a pair of GREATER SCAUP on the Neversink Reservoir! This was new for the county this year. Continuing on, the Rondout Reservoir area was quite birdy. It was the only place I had many passerines ie. Goldfinches, Purple Finches, Robins, Juncos etc. Waterfowl were scarce, but I did have my only COMMON LOON of the day here. I continued on to Hunter Road hoping for finches or buntings, but none were to be found. As I reached the second area of fields, I spotted a bird on top of a spruce (I’d already seen several Blue Jays like this) and I stopped to check it out. YES! My first NORTHERN SHRIKE in the county this year! The bird was quite cooperative, but eventually went down in some dense brush at the base of the spruce trees. I headed home to warm up (had lots of wind and sleet this morning). I didn’t even reach home when I got a text from Rob Stone informing me that Bruce Nott had found a PINK-FOOTED GOOSE at the Camel Farm in Orange County. Following a quick bite to eat, I headed right down to meet Bruce and Linda Scrima to have great scope views of the goose! Even though its been fairly quiet since my return home, you never know when everything will break loose like today did. GREAT BIRDING! Many thanks to Rob and Bruce for keeping me in the loop!
Very distant shot of the Pink-footed Goose at the Camel Farm.

Very distant shot of the Pink-footed Goose at the Camel Farm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wild Day in Sullivan and Orange Counties!

  1. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Not knowing what the day will bring is one of the many joys of birding. Good to see you this afternoon, John.

  2. That’s for sure Kathy! Nice to see you too, sorry it was so brief. Hopefully we’ll have good reason to meet up again soon! Best, John

Leave a Reply

