Harns Marsh

Gray-headed Swamphen.

Gray-headed Swamphen.

Yesterday I birded Harns Marsh. This is always a fabulous birding location and you never know what you might find. I had 41 species here yesterday with a couple of surprises. My best birds were an AMERICAN BITTERN and a CRESTED CARACARA! Both of these birds were new Lee County birds for me. Harns has always been a good spot for Least Bittern for me, but I had never hooked up with the American here. Likewise, I get Crested Caracara just east and south of us, but had never had it here in Lee County. The other highlight of the morning were my best views of GRAY-HEADED SWAMPHEN here. Though my photos aren’t the best, I have only had fleeting glimpses of this species at this spot in the past. Also seen were Sandhill Cranes, Cattle Egrets, coots, gallinules, grebes, ibis, Snail Kite and much more!
American Bittern

American Bittern


Crested Caracara

Crested Caracara

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

