Dutchess County HUDSONIAN GODWIT!

A very distant, highly cropped shot of the Hudsonian Godwit (on left) with a Great Blue Heron.

A very distant, highly cropped shot of the Hudsonian Godwit (on left) with a Great Blue Heron.


Last evening, I got a call from Ken McDermott informing me that the Waterman’s Bird Club Field Trip to Strauss Marsh in Dutchess County had found a HUDSONIAN GODWIT! While it was too late to try for it Saturday, Ken was rather confident the bird would remain today. I tried to make several connections this morning to see if the bird was being seen. Nothing worked out and I decided to forget it. At about 10:45, I got another call from Ken informing me that the bird was relocated and being seen at that time. I headed home for supplies and directions and immediately headed to northern Dutchess County. Upon my arrival at the Strauss Marsh, I found no one. I had little to go on as to where the bird was, so I just started scanning the distant marsh with my scope. As I scanned, a car pulled up alongside me. It was Mrs. Strauss! She offered me several suggestions on where to look for the bird and to walk around the marsh as I pleased. It took nearly an hour, but I found the godwit! A couple of women arrived, and I was able to get them on the bird. Then Tom Burke and Gail Benson arrived. (they had actually already been there in the morning and viewed the bird then) Then, Carena Pooth, whom I had been talking back and forth with arrived. We all had decent scope views of the bird, but photos were tough. I again spoke with this time both Mr. and Mrs. Strauss, a wonderful couple very happy to accommodate birders viewing this great marsh. I can’t thank them enough for their hospitality! I’d also like to thank Ken McDermott for alerting me to the bird and keeping me posted on the sightings!
Another distant shot of the Hudsonian Godwit.

Another distant shot of the Hudsonian Godwit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

