Storm birds

Distant Ruddy Ducks on Kiamesha Lake.

Distant Ruddy Ducks on Kiamesha Lake.


I went out early this morning with limited time to check some of the hot spots in the county for birds put down by the heavy rain and high winds overnight (and continuing today). I was a bit disappointed overall as few birds actually showed up. That said, the best bird of the day, was right here on Yankee Lake. A winter plumage RED-NECKED GREBE! I then hit Kiamesha Lake where I found my FOS RUDDY DUCKS, six of them. No other locations checked (Neversink Reservoir, Morningside Park, Swan Lake) had any birds whatsoever. After attending the Bashakill Area Associations annual meeting, I returned to Yankee Lake at 1pm. The Red-necked Grebe continues, but the winds and waves were even worse than this morning making photos impossible. If the bird remains once the wind stops, I will try again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

