Bashakill – Sparrowpallooza continues! Eleven species seen!

The Vesper Sparrow continues this morning.

The Vesper Sparrow continues this morning.


I birded the Bashakill this morning, mostly Haven Road. I spent two hours there, unable to pull myself away. There was a big transition in birds overnight, but some specialties remained. As I was seeing so many great birds, I texted Scott Baldinger, who soon joined me. Between us we had eleven species of sparrows, the highlights of which were VESPER, LINCOLN’S, WHITE-CROWNED and SAVANNAH! (Scott had the Lincoln’s and White-crowned) Also seen were Swamp, Song, White-throated, House, Chipping, Field Sparrows and Dark-eyed Junco! I think that’s an amazing tally for one small stretch of road! As if that weren’t enough, I was thrilled to turn to my right and see a beautiful GRAY-CHEEKED THRUSH feeding on a Winter Berry Bush right in the open along the road. It was immediately joined by a Hermit Thrush that were both flushed by a loud truck before I could get a shot of them. At the Deli Fields, Scott and I also had a SWAINSON’S THRUSH (another of which was in my yard when I got home). Yellow-rumped Warblers were again abundant with about 50 seen. Palm Warblers were more scarce with only 5 seen. A Common Yellowthroat the last thing rounded out the warblers. A big surprise also on Haven Road were four TREE SWALLOWS that passed by just before noon. I think this is the latest date I have ever had them. Raptors included Red-tailed and Red-shouldered Hawks, Cooper’s Hawk, Bald Eagle and Turkey Vulture. This is the third day of great birding at the Bashakill!
Uncommon at the Bashakill, this Northern Mockingbird has been present for several days now.

Uncommon at the Bashakill, this Northern Mockingbird has been present for several days now.


A male Yellow-bellied Sapsucker was feeding on Poison Ivy berries.

A male Yellow-bellied Sapsucker was feeding on Poison Ivy berries.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

