Another great day at the Bashakill!

This morning I started on Haven Road again. The usual suspects were seen. Once I reached the Orchard, I knew immediately things were happening. A wave of migrants were passing through the Orchard, crossing Haven Road right at the intersection and moving out along the tree line and marsh. The most abundant species was easily BLUE-HEADED VIREO! I had an amazing eleven of these birds move across Haven Road. Five were in one tree at one time! The other surprise vireo was a gorgeous PHILADELPHIA VIREO! Its getting a bit late for this species and I was surprised to see it. A total of three Red-eyed Vireos were also seen. I had a dozen species of warbler today with the highlights being Wilson’s Warbler, Blackpoll Warbler, Northern Parula and Tennessee! I tried to relocate the Orange-crowned at the Deli Fields with no luck. Sparrows today included two LINCOLN’S, Song, Swamp, Chipping and White-throated Sparrows. Eastern Towhees continue to be common. Two Brown Creepers were at the Nature Trail. Surprisingly, I had no thrush of any kind today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

