Bashakill – Orange-crowned Warbler!

This morning I birded McDonald Road and the Bashakill. McDonald Road was quite birdy and I had a number of warblers and sparrows there. Black-throated Green, Palm and Common Yellowthroats were seen as were Song, Savannah and Lincoln’s Sparrows. From there I headed to the Bashakill. I birded Haven Road, The Orchard, The Main Boat Launch and the Deli Fields. The usual suspects were seen from Haven Road including Herons, Egrets, Harriers and gallinules. I had many Palm Warblers and Common Yellowthroats. Song and Swamp Sparrows were abundant. All the usual birds seen throughout. At the Deli Fields, I had quite a few more warblers. Palm, Yellow-rumped and Common Yellowthroats were abundant. I found an interesting warbler out near “The Wash”. I was able to follow it, getting glimpses here and there. My first thought was that it was a Tennessee, but it didn’t quite look right. Better views were needed, but the bird disappeared frequently in the dense vegetation, then suddenly it would fly to another thicket. Finally after about ten minutes, I closed in on an area it went down. I spished and it popped up, a beautiful Gray-headed type ORANGE-CROWNED WARBLER! An interesting thing about this species, when I entered it in ebird, all the individuals I’ve seen in the county all occurred within a very brief period at the end of September, beginning of October or in late April! That gives me a pretty good window of when best to look for this bird.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill – Orange-crowned Warbler!

  1. Kathleen Ashman says:

    Congratulations on the Orange-crowned Warbler, John!

Leave a Reply

