Bashakill WMA – Little Blue Heron – no

I did an extensive search of the Bashakill this morning in an attempt to relocate the Little Blue Heron found yesterday. I covered all vantages from Westbrookville to Moose Head Cove on the Stop Sign Trail. I was unable to find the bird. That said, it doesn’t mean it has gone. I had a tough time with the Egrets this morning. They were spread well across the marsh from the Main Boat Launch to the Pine Boat Launch. I was able to spot 8 of them, but it is still tough to get good looks in most areas due to the dense high vegetation. All of the birds that I finally got clear looks at were indeed Great Egrets, but a Little Blue, at half the size of a GREG would not even show up in many areas. I will keep a close lookout for this bird (as will Scott Baldinger) over the next several days in hopes that it will again be seen. Keep you posted! Otherwise, it was a typically good day of birding. Mary Buskey and I covered many areas. Herons, Egrets, Thrush, Warblers, Eagles, Gallinules and Kingfishers were all seen. Good morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill WMA – Little Blue Heron – no

  1. kate hyden says:

    Hey JH..found your little Blue on my watercolor paper. Went into a tailspin when I saw your pic of the white morph and immediately headed for All About Birds, where I saw the many colors this little guy comes in. Wish I could send you the finished pic (doing it for our Audubon dinner 10/14) but I don’t see an add photo icon!

  2. Kate,
    If you would like me to add it to the Blog, just email it to me at vanhaas@citlink.net and I will add it. John

Leave a Reply

