Whirl-wind Day!

Two distant American Golden Plovers can be seen on the left side of the dirt tracks in this shot.

Two distant American Golden Plovers can be seen on the left side of the dirt tracks in this shot.


This morning I was out early, headed to Warren Sod Farm to try to finally connect with the AMERICAN GOLDEN PLOVERS. It took me only a short time before I located two of them. First I found one of the Buffies in the usual spot. I think there were actually still two, but I didn’t see two at once. Then I moved on down to the next sod field that had been harvested and immediately spotted two plovers. From the sod farm, I went to Six and a Half Roads Citgo Pond. Here I found many of the same shorebirds. The highlights of which included the ongoing Wilson’s Snipe and Pectoral Sandpiper. From there, I headed north to Morningside Park. Kayaking the lake I had many of the usual shorebirds. Least, Spotted and Semipalmated Sandpipers and Killdeer and Wilson’s Snipe. A juvenile Cooper’s Hawk showed nicely. From there, I headed to the Bashakill. I haven’t been there in nearly a week and hadn’t been making out at all well my last couple of visits. Today was a different story. The usual Egrets, Herons and Gallinules were seen as well as the usual Hawks and Eagles. A Northern Harrier the best of the bunch. When I went to the Stop Sign Trail, I hit paydirt. As I started out the trail, I found many Eastern Pewees. Then around the rock cut, I found a large mixed species flock. Baltimore Orioles, Red-eyed and Yellow=throated Vireos, Blackburnian, Canada, Chestnut-sided, Magnolia, Wilson’s Warblers and Common Yellowthroat were all among the flock of the more common Chickadees, Nuthatches and Titmice! This was my best flock since May! What a day, four far flung locations with good birds at all the spots. With the forecast for northwest winds and some rain in the next few days, its only going to get better.
American Golden Plover - though my shots are distant, the scope views weren't actually bad.

American Golden Plover – though my shots are distant, the scope views weren’t actually bad.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

