The last several days

Buff-breasted Sandpiper at Warren Sod Farm.

Buff-breasted Sandpiper at Warren Sod Farm.


I have been extremely busy over the last four or five days. Most of it has been chasing birds and the rest was social obligations. To make a long story short, the birding hadn’t been going so well. I made a total of five chases in the last week and connected only with the Baird’s Sandpiper Matt Zeitler had found on Thursday. Several runs have all come up dry. The worst occurred yesterday when I drove all the way to eastern Long Island to see the Rufous Hummingbird. The bird was at a NWR on the north shore of the south fork. Unfortunately, the staff decided to changed the hummingbird feeders shortly before I arrived. The bird was being seen and photographed by many up to that point. When they put the feeders back out, something wasn’t right. The bird exhibited a dislike for the new mixture and after a couple of tastes of it, took off, never to return! EEEEEEESH! I arrived shortly after its departure and spent the next several hours with several other birders, waiting in vain. Also over the last few days, Matt, Bruce Nott and Linda Scrima had been keeping me informed of the presence of “Grasspipers” at the Warren Sod Farm. The only problem was that by the time I would arrive, they had moved elsewhere and I couldn’t find them. This morning, I had an appointment. The texts began coming almost immediately. I finally made my way to the sod farm. Everyone had gone, but I was eventually able to find two BUFF-BREASTED SANDPIPERS with a flock of Killdeer. I wasn’t able to find the American Golden Plovers. The sandpipers were very cooperative and Linda Scrima joined me for some fabulous looks. Thanks to all these folks for keeping me up on the latest intel!
The two buffies that were present this morning.

The two buffies that were present this morning.


Buff-breasted Sandpiper

Buff-breasted Sandpiper


Buff-breasted Sandpiper

Buff-breasted Sandpiper

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

