Sullivan County

The Olive-sided Flycatcher on the Stop Sign Trail.

The Olive-sided Flycatcher on the Stop Sign Trail.


A nice morning to be out, kayaked Morningside Park and then birded the Bashakill. With the northwest winds from the last two days and the heavy rain overnight, I really expected more shorebirds at Morningside. As it was, the list was about the same: 3 Spotted Sandpipers, 1 Killdeer, 1 Semipalmated Plover, 1 Semipalmated Sandpiper, 4 Least Sandpipers and 2 Wilson’s Snipe. At the Bashakill, I was hoping the winds might have had a better effect. It was a good morning, quite a few birds, especially raptors, but few warblers. The highlight of the morning was a beautiful FOS OLIVE-SIDED FLYCATCHER hawking insects from the large dead tree on the Stop Sign Trail. A year bird for me. I ran into Charlie West and company from New Jersey who were having a good morning themselves. I told them about the flycatcher, and they went right over and found it. Many Broad-winged Hawks, Red-tailed Hawks and a Cooper’s Hawk were all seen by me. Charlie and friends had a nice Merlin at the Main Boat Launch. I had a Great Blue and a Green Heron, but I didn’t spot any egrets this morning.
The Wilson's Snipe can both be seen in this photo. They seem to have stopped flushing when I come by, maybe they are getting used to me.

The Wilson’s Snipe can both be seen in this photo. They seem to have stopped flushing when I come by, maybe they are getting used to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

