A very “HOT” Mid-day at the Bashakill

The adult male tending to his begging chicks.

The adult male tending to his begging chicks.


I took a ride along the Neversink River again this morning. It was already a bit late and the temperatures were already soaring. It was not very birdy and there was no waterfowl at all today. I then headed down to the Bashakill. I’m always hoping to get some shots of bears and was hoping yesterday’s bear might head into the marsh again. Arriving on Haven Road, it was hot! It was already 84 degrees and there is no shade on Haven Road. Fortunately, someone forgot to tell the birds that they shouldn’t be active in the heat of the day. I immediately came upon the ongoing family of ORCHARD ORIOLES! Today, they were a bit more cooperative than the other day. The male was actively feeding the two chicks and the female was following them about. I was able to get a number of shots that were an improvement over my previous shots. I called Scott Baldinger and he came over to see them. They had gone into some alder bushes and gotten quiet for some time, but eventually came out and fed again. Also present were two Great Blue Herons, 7 Eastern Kingbirds (family), Song Sparrows, Common Yellowthroats, Swamp Sparrows and two actively calling VIRGINIA RAILS. It was a lot of bird activity for this time of day! By the way, I never got to see the bear, but Scott got to see it on his way over to Haven Road.
The adult female keeping an eye out. (on me) I only determine this to be the female as it never fed nor begged for food. Nor did it make the constant calls the chicks made.

The adult female keeping an eye out. (on me) I only determined this to be the female as it never fed nor begged for food. Nor did it make the constant calls the chicks made.


One of the chicks, momentarily on its own.

One of the chicks, momentarily on its own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

