Neversink River

A Pied-billed Grebe on the Neversink River this morning, my second there in the last six weeks. It seems to me to be at an unusual location at an unusual time.

A Pied-billed Grebe on the Neversink River this morning, my second there in the last six weeks. It seems to me to be at an unusual location at an unusual time.


This morning I got out late again, and took a ride along the Neversink River at Bridgeville. I was hoping to spot some more merganser chicks or something of interest in the great location. I never found and mergs or kingfishers for that matter, but it was quite birdy along the river. The most unexpected find was a Pied-billed Grebe. I had found one here five or six weeks ago and thought it strange. I don’t think they would breed on the river, but I could be mistaken. At any rate I never entered the first sighting in ebird, so I blew that. The bird was in the exact same location today and diving actively. I tried for a while to get some photos but it was up and down and them disappeared. Finally, I walked along the road and peeked through some bushes and it sat long enough for me to get a shot. From there, I took a quick ride to the Bashakill. Still very hot and relatively quiet there, but I finally saw my first black bear of the year. It crossed right in front of me on the road through the Orchard. I waited it out for some time as it had crossed into the woods on the marsh side, which is really not a very large area. It disappeared in the thick vegetation and I never saw it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

