Sullivan County

A Black Vulture at the roost at the entrance to the landfill.  This is usually a good spot to find them, especially on a rainy morning.

A Black Vulture at the roost at the entrance to the landfill. This is usually a good spot to find them, especially on a rainy morning.


I took a bit of a break from birding over the last five days. I had a lot going on and was a bit tired out from all of my travels. Yesterday, I birded some of the local hot spots for the first time in some time. I started at the Apollo Plaza (no current access) where I am able to view it from some adjoining property. The two Osprey are busy feeding chicks. Four Killdeer and a Spotted Sandpiper were seen as were four species of swallow. Cliff Swallows continue to breed on the façade of the building this year. From there I went to the Sullivan County Landfill. Also no access in less your dropping off your recyclables as I was. The vulture roost had a dozen vultures including one Black Vulture this morning. On the grassy mound nearest the office, Bobolink, Savannah Sparrows and Eastern Meadowlarks could all be seen and heard. From there I went along the Neversink River. It was very birdy. The most interesting birds to me were a family of Belted Kingfishers. I saw at least four birds, but since views are often obstructed, there could have been more. The eagle chick has fledged and no sign of any eagles this morning. From there, a quick trip to the Bashakill. I didn’t spend much time here, but had an American Bittern calling and three Common Gallinule. Also no eagles here, they too have fledged and were not in the area this morning.
A soggy Eastern Meadowlark on a rainy morning.

A soggy Eastern Meadowlark on a rainy morning.


A female Belted Kingfisher on the Neversink River this morning, one of a family of at least four I saw.

A female Belted Kingfisher on the Neversink River this morning, one of a family of at least four I saw.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

