Jamaica Bay

The Tri-colored Heron doing the Umbrella Dance (shading the water) as it fed on the West Pond.

The Tri-colored Heron doing the Umbrella Dance (shading the water) as it fed on the West Pond.


This morning I headed to Jamaica Bay early to try for the Ruff that had been found yesterday. Upon my arrival I was told that the bird had been seen at first light this morning, but flushed and hadn’t been seen since. By the time mid-morning had passed, there were many people looking for the bird. It still couldn’t be found. At 9:30 I headed over to the West Pond. Tom Burke gave me some helpful hints on timing to try to locate a TRI-COLORED HERON. This bird has been a target all year and had eluded me thus far. Tom was right on the mark, half way through the rising tide, the Tri-colored Heron showed up to feed in the West Pond. Thanks Tom! Back to the East Pond. By now it had gotten quite hot and humid, and upon my return, most of the birders had departed. I spent another hour looking for the Ruff, but never found it. I decided to head home for a relaxing afternoon.
Tri-colored Herons seem to be scarce this year and had eluded me until now.

Tri-colored Herons seem to be scarce this year and had eluded me until now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

