Doodletown Yellow-throated Warbler -NO

Upon returning home at lunch time today, I saw a post that a Yellow-throated Warbler had been found and photographed at Doodletown this morning. I didn’t hesitate. I practically flew down. After having been rained out on this species twice in recent weeks on Long Island, I was happy for a chance at the bird much closer to home. I arrived at Doodletown and began the long trek up the mountain. Three quarters of the way up I ran into a group of birders. They informed me they had just left the warbler, singing in the trees at the “T” near the bridge. They said it could be hard to see, but was singing continually. Only a five minute walk further, I was quite pleased. That was it. The bird was not in the tree, and was never seen nor heard the remainder of the afternoon. Another birder joined me shortly thereafter reassuring me I was in the exact right spot. We fanned out and searched high and low, but no warbler. Perhaps it will be relocated in the morning, when I am back on Long Island.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

