Jamaica Bay

A distant shot of an immature Little Blue Heron.

A distant shot of an immature Little Blue Heron.

This morning I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to do, so I decided to make a last minute dash to Jamaica Bay. I have been seeing daily reports of at least four species I hadn’t seen yet this year and thought I give them another try. It wasn’t a very productive day, very hot and humid. I did manage to get one new bird, my FOS LITTLE BLUE HERON. None of the other species could be found. I did get my first White-eyed Vireo at Jamaica Bay this year. Remarkably, it was in the same small group of trees where Bill Fiero and I had it last spring. The only migrants I saw today were about forty Semipalmated Sandpipers.

A singing White-eyed Vireo in the North Garden.

A singing White-eyed Vireo in the North Garden.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jamaica Bay

  1. Gordon Lam says:

    Glad to see you got one of your target birds on you next visit to JBWR.

  2. Bill says:

    I remember well. I had one in Stewart Forest a few weeks ago. Orange County first. You had one at the Bash; maybe a good year for them.

  3. Apparently so, friends of mine from Pennsylvania found yet another one at the Orchard at the Bashakill last week. A nice streak!

Leave a Reply

