Shawangunk Grasslands

Grasshopper Sparrow

Grasshopper Sparrow


This morning I spent some time at Blue Chip Farms and Shawangunk Grasslands. My target species was Upland Sandpiper, which I never found at either location. I did have a nice morning and some good birds. I spent most of my time with the Grasshopper Sparrows as I don’t get to see these that often. They were very cooperative this morning, coming right up on the viewing platform and the warning sign at the end of the ramp. This has got to be one of the easiest locations anywhere to photograph this uncommon sparrow. Bobolink, Field, Song and Savannah Sparrow were also present as well as Eastern Meadowlark, American Kestrel and Willow Flycatchers. A nice assortment of birds. It was also nice to get to meet Scott, Ralph Tabor’s new assistant at the refuge. Scott is very enthusiastic about the refuge and helping Ralph with the many endeavors at the refuge. Its nice to have him aboard.
Singing Grasshopper Sparrow.

Singing Grasshopper Sparrow.


Grasshopper Sparrow

Grasshopper Sparrow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shawangunk Grasslands

  1. mpaper2013 says:

    I would like to post a a couple of photos I took at
    Bashakill last weekend. How would I do that?
    Thanks,
    Mitch Clark

    • Mitch,      Thanks for the inquiry, but I don’t normally post other peoples photos to my blog. If there is something extraordinary, I have done so in the past, but not for typical birds. If you are interested, you can join the Mearn’s Bird Club.  They have an open site where you can post any photos you would like to. Just google the club and you can find out information on how to do so. Best, John

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, John. It was a pleasure to meet you today at SGNWF. Your photos are superb. Thanks for visiting the refuge.
    Scott Lenhart, USFWS (Vol.)

  3. Deb Kral says:

    Nice images and happy to see the Grasshopper Sparrows are so cooperative, I hope the Kestrels are when I next visit! PS If you want company next time you go to LI to look for the Yellow-throated Warbler, let me know, its a life bird for me, one I REALLY want to see!!!

  4. Thanks Deb! I only saw one Kestrel today, but Scott said there are many pairs. As for the YTWA I’d like to see it too!

Leave a Reply

