Unexpected pleasant end to the day

Yellow-bellied Flycatcher on the Nature Trail.

Yellow-bellied Flycatcher on the Nature Trail.


Late this afternoon, after I had rested from my busy morning, I headed to the Bashakill to try for the Least Bittern again. I dipped on the bird, the wind still howling. I decided to head to the Nature Trail to try for the YELLOW-BELLIED FLYCATCHER that Lance Verderame had had last evening. I spotted a couple of warblers, and then a flycatcher that vaporized before I could get an ID. Just around the corner I ran into Rich and Greg Prelich. They are great guys and really good birders. Rich immediately informed me there were still lots of warblers around and at least a couple of Yellow-bellied Flycatchers. He offered to show me where he had the last one they had seen. The spot was the regular location these birds always show up. Sure enough, one showed up in just minutes. We had great looks at the bird and got some photos. We moved around a bit and I managed to get a shot of a Bay-breasted Warbler. As we worked our way out of the trail, we had more warblers including Black and White, Canada and Yellow-rumped. Once we reached the last board walk before the parking area, they told me they also had a YBFL here. It showed up in just a minute and we had more great looks. It was a surprise ending to the day and great to catch up with Rich and Greg!
Bay-breasted Warbler on the Nature Trail

Bay-breasted Warbler on the Nature Trail


Yellow-bellied Flycatcher

Yellow-bellied Flycatcher

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

