Doodletown and Sterling Forest

dscn7526KEWA2

dscn7525KEWA

Kentucky Warbler at Doodletown Road.

Kentucky Warbler at Doodletown Road.


This morning I birded the above locations with specific target species in mind. Both sites were quite birdy in spite of the high winds. Doodletown had all the usual suspects with Cerulean and Hooded both being quite common. Two Orchard Orioles right in the parking lot when I got out of the car was a nice find. My target species for Doodletown were Olive-sided Flycatcher and Kentucky Warbler. I spotted a large flycatcher up hill from me, but before I could even raise my bins, it took off, flying down under the ridge never to be seen again. Fortunately, the KENTUCKY WARBLER was much more cooperative. At first it sang continuously just down slope from me, giving great views, but no photo ops. Just as I was about to give up, it suddenly flew up slope, landing in a maple right over the road. The bird remained there when I left. It gave some interesting opportunities for photos, at least to document my sighting. Really neat bird! On to Sterling Forest where my target was GOLDEN-WINGED WARBLER. No problems. I had tow singing males just uphill from the parking area. Photos were tough, but again I documented it. Great morning that started out with 35 degree temps and forty mile per hour winds!
Golden-winged Warbler at Sterling Forest.

Golden-winged Warbler at Sterling Forest.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

