Bashakill continues to be active

This morning I birded the Orchard/Stop Sign Trail, Birch Trail and Nature Trails. It continues to be very active as evidenced by 16 species of warbler. Most notable to me was my FOS MOURNING WARBLER at the Orchard. Originally found yesterday by Sean Sime and team, it was in the same place this morning, singing loudly. I got my usual horrible shot. Most of the other warblers were common species. I ran into Greg and Rich Prelich at the Main Boat Launch where I was checking the Birch Trail for the Least Bittern, (it was reported again this morning, but no luck for me) They informed me they had four Bay-breasted Warblers on the Nature Trail. I went there soon there after and found three Bay-breasted together, two males and a female. I missed the fourth bird. A Hooded Warbler continued, as well as the more common species.

The Mourning Warbler was singing loudly, but I would barely catch a glimpse from time to time.

The Mourning Warbler was singing loudly, but I would barely catch a glimpse from time to time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bashakill continues to be active

  1. matthewzeitler says:

    Nice job following up on the MOWA, John, that’s a bird I’d love to see. What a great time of year to be a birder; I need to get out to the Bash one day this week – I haven’t been there in a while

  2. Thanks Matt! and congratulations on your great “Break 100” Saturday! Especially your life Gray-cheeked Warbler, one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

