Gray Kingbird!

Though my shots of the Gray Kingbird are distant, they are diagnostic of the species.

Though my shots of the Gray Kingbird are distant, they are diagnostic of the species.


To make a long story short, I got a call from Sean Sime asking me if I was going for the GRAY KINGBIRD in Conesus, New York in the western Finger Lakes. I told him I was going tomorrow if it was still seen today. He informed me that Dave Klauber had just had the bird. He also suggested that if I left right away, I might have the bird today myself. Since I was standing in the pouring rain (it was really a great day at the Bashakill in spite of the rain, but I’ll tell you that story tomorrow) I decided to head home, check out google maps to see how far it was, and ultimately headed north west before 1pm. I arrived at 4:30 pm, but got a bit lost at Conesus. Once I found the correct location on Conesus Inlet, I headed right out the boardwalk. Again, long story short, a young man told me the bird had been seen ten minutes earlier. It took about another ten minutes when the bird was spotted on top of a distant snag. The bird proceeded to put on a great show over the next 45 minutes as many other birders arrived. This was New York State bird #402 for me!
Gray Kingbird at Conesus Inlet, Livingston County.

Gray Kingbird at Conesus Inlet, Livingston County.


Gray Kingbird, click on to see in a larger size.

Gray Kingbird, click on to see in a larger size.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gray Kingbird!

  1. Bill says:

    You can’t lose this year! I’m coming home!

  2. Thanks! I see you’re having a great trip! Can’t wait to hear all about it! See you when you get home. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

