Pacific Golden-plover !!

The Pacific Golden-plover on the right with a Black-bellied Plover.

The Pacific Golden-plover on the right with a Black-bellied Plover.

About ten days ago, a PACIFIC GOLDEN-PLOVER was found in the sod farm area just south of Belle Glade. It is a first state record for Florida. I had been busy chasing other birds but was going to go for this bird when, the reports dried up. I thought It must be gone, but two days ago the bird was reported again. After getting a good nights sleep, I awoke at 5:30 am and immediately decided to head east. I already had a busy day planned as we were having company and had to do some shopping before they arrived. I zoomed the 115 miles over to East Canal Road, hopping for the best. I easily found the bird among 19 Black-bellied Plovers and 2 Pectoral Sandpipers. It was easily identified by its small size, small bill, different stance, overall buffy appearance (really quite golden plumage that looked buffy at a distance). I was pleased to get this bird because even though I have seen many Pacific Golden-plovers, they have all been in Hawaii. This is my first ABA bird. I have included my very distant shots of the bird simply as documentation that I saw it.

Pacific Golden-plover, while not really identifiable as such in this shot, this is a photo of the bird.

Pacific Golden-plover, while not really identifiable as such in this shot, this is a photo of the bird.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pacific Golden-plover !!

  1. Bill says:

    Didn’t know about that!! Not far to 700!!

  2. I’m whittling away at it!

Leave a Reply

