Sanibel Island

Cape May Warblers seem to be everywhere on this trip!

Cape May Warblers seem to be everywhere on this trip!


Today I birded Sanibel Island. It was a really nice leisurely morning of birding. There were quite a few shorebirds, including breeding plumage Short-billed Dowitchers. I usually miss any real warbler movement when I am here in the spring, but this year appears to be the exception. I started at Lighthouse Point which was only moderately birdy. Blackpoll and Cape May Warblers were the main species. Prairie and Palm were also present. From there I went to Ding Darling NWR and took the Wildlife Drive. It was quite birdy here. I found several fruiting trees, some kind of figs I think and they were all loaded with birds. Gray Catbirds are passing through. I had nearly 50 of them feeding in the trees.(not all at once) Once again, the dominant migrants were Cape May and Blackpoll Warblers. I had a dozen Blackpolls in a single tree! Cape May weren’t quite as numerous, but there were at least three of them. That makes perhaps as many as ten Cape May Warblers in two days! I have never seen anywhere near that many before. I then went to Shell Mound to try for the White-crowned Pigeon that has been frequenting this spot for a couple of years, but that I have always missed. No luck. As I was exiting the park, there were a group of people along the road. They were watching five MANATEES in the waterway along the road. The water was a bit murky, but we could see them well enough. They put on quite a show for about an hour, and I even managed a couple of photos of these underwater behemoths. As we watched the Manatees, I heard the familiar call of the White-crowned Pigeon. It was nearly half a mile from where it is usually reported. I searched the dense fruiting trees for this bird, which kept calling, but could never get a visual. A nice add to my county list anyway. A good morning!
Blackpoll Warblers are one of the most numerous warblers I've been seeing.

Blackpoll Warblers are one of the most numerous warblers I’ve been seeing.


A Manatee surfaces for air at Ding Darling Refuge

A Manatee surfaces for air at Ding Darling Refuge

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sanibel Island

  1. Bill says:

    Glad you got down there, dude. Sounds like you’re livin’ it! Great photos. Talk upon my return.

  2. Thanks Bill! Hope you have a great trip with lots of birds!

Leave a Reply

