Bashakill and Morningside Park

One of the Brown Thrashers in the road at the Orchard.

One of the Brown Thrashers in the road at the Orchard.


This morning I started out at the Bashakill. It was extremely birdy. I didn’t find any new species in the two hours I was there, but had numerous birds. Highlights included both ongoing species of teal, Rusty Blackbirds, Fox Sparrows, Wilson’s Snipe, both Kinglets and two BROWN THRASHERS! The Great Egret wasn’t seen this morning. Before I got any further, I got a call from Scott Baldinger. He was at Morningside Park and had found a nice fallout of birds there. I got my county FOS DOUBLE-CRESTED CORMORANTS and SNOW GOOSE there! Thanks Scott!! Also present were Lesser Scaup, Bufflehead, Red-breasted Mergansers, 13 Horned Grebe and some of the more common ducks. Scott and I also went to the Neversink and Rondout Reservoirs where we had far fewer birds. Most notable of which was a Common Loon on the Neversink.
A Snow Goose feeding with Canada Geese at Morningside Park.

A Snow Goose feeding with Canada Geese at Morningside Park.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

