Back to the Bashakill!

Always one of my favorites, I just can't resist this bird.

Always one of my favorites, I just can’t resist this bird.


After some rest, a warmup and hot lunch, I couldn’t resist heading back to the Bashakill late this afternoon. The weather was no better with a solid half hour of sleet and wind, but the birds continued to be great. The Vesper Sparrow and Savannah Sparrows continued on Haven Road. American Pipits, Wilson’s Snipe and Killdeer were abundant. I spent some time with Scott and Paula Baldinger who came out to see four RED-BREASTED MERGANSERS I found at the Pine Boat Launch. Lance Verderame arrived a while later, got most of the good birds and informed me he had seen a female Towhee at 1051 South Road. I went over and couldn’t find the female, but two males chasing each other around in the leaf litter was a nice add. Thanks Lance! Another great visit. Who knows what tomorrows continued inclement weather may bring.
One of the two male Towhees on South Road.

One of the two male Towhees on South Road.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

